Guest Reviews

Reviews of West Inn & Suites - Carlsbad CA

At West, we seek feedback to improve continuously through guest comment surveys and on our website. Know that we are especially proud of our TripAdvisor reviews and cherish our Travelers Choice Award. We can say with confidence and integrity that these reviews are not solicited or requested yet come from the heart of our leisure and corporate guests. At West, your stay is personal and we are especially honored to serve our corporate/business travelers as well as families, pets and couples here for romance.

Enjoy what our past guests of West Inn & Suites in Carlsbad, CA have to say about their experience with us.

Exceeded Expectations

My 3 sisters and I booked a double king bed suite for our annual summer birthday celebration. We were delightfully surprised with the friendly, competent staff at check in. The hotel was nicely decorated with real orchid arrangements. The rooms were clean and the beds super comfortable. We enjoyed the free 'perks' such as the parking, breakfast, reading room, pool and jacuzzi, and evening turn down service with chocolates. The on site restaurant was fabulous- Zagat rated and the food, wine, and bar couldn't have been better! Despite the hotel being pet and kid friendly, our room was quiet. We were granted a one hour complimentary extended check out. My sister discovered her tires had low air pressure & the engineer was called to assist her with that repair. We couldn't have been treated any better- the service was personalized and professional.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family

Lovely Boutique Hotel

My family and I stayed in a double King suite for one night while visiting Legoland and we LOVED it. The hotel is smaller and the grounds are very well manicured. The staff was very friendly and helpful from the time we arrived. The hotel is really clean and we loved our room. We're a family of 4, with 5 and 8 year old boys. So, we love finding the right size beds for us to be comfortable. We're usually happy with 2 queen beds, but 2 KINGS?? Awesome Sauce!!!!! The best part was the cookies and milk turndown.....that's our kind of turn down. 

The pool is kind of small, but the hotel isn't huge. Lastly, the staff was very friendly and helpful from arrival until departure. West Inn & Suites is definitely going on my short list of places to stay in Carlsbad.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family

Great Place To Stay!

 hate to be redundant,but my review is going to sound just like a lot of the others,because, this place is GREAT! ALL and I mean ALL of the staff is very friendly,helpful and seem to enjoy there job. Customer service is top notch. The hotel itself is fantastic,with a beachy,island flair,without going overboard. Have stayed at other property's in Carlsbad before,but when I go back,we are staying at the West Inn!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple

Enjoyed Our Stay Here

Stayed here for my wife's milestone birthday celebration with kids and immediate family. Staff was professional and very friendly! Always fulfilled our needs. Free shuttle to anywhere within 5mi radius of hotel was always on time for pickup and return! They also provided complimentary crib and pack and play for our room, and baby car seats for infants and toddlers (which they setup for families in advance). So many complimentary amenities that would've been extra at other hotels. West Inn Cafe had AMAZING food. Although a little on the pricey side for families, the quality was outstanding! We loved this hotel, and will definitely book here again! Awesome job West Inn & Suites!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family

Can't Go Wrong

A wedding in Oceanside brought us to San Diego - I was having trouble locating a suitable (location and price) hotel to stay in....stumbled across West Inn & Suites here on TripAdvisor - and, based on reviews I picked it...normally i wouldn't dare go with something i'd never heard of - but i figured i'd give it a shot - what a great decision!!! The staff was some of the friendliest i have encountered....The Front Desk folks were always greeting us with smiles and offering assistance and so much information.
They have thought of everything - how great it was to go to the front desk and be given beach towels and even beach chairs - Tommy Bahama chairs no less!!! 
The beds were amazingly comfortable....the rooms large enough to move around and not feel cramped....their bath towels are some of the softest i've ever had in a hotel!
Parking was never a problem and the convenience being right off I-5 was a blessing for this out-of-towner. 
Their Bistro had fabulous food - the only downfall there was that it was pretty pricey and they were extremely limited in their beer selection - the service was impeccable.
We made sure everyone at the wedding knew about the place and if we had cause to be back in San Diego we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
Traveling only as a couple, we did feel a little out of place - most other guests were families traveling with children...but that didn't bother us.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple

Perfect

Trip Advisor helped us find this gem. We were getting away w/o kids/grandkids for the first time. I shared that with the hotel in an email, asking for a quiet room on the top floor. We were greeted with champagne on ice and chocolates upon our arrival. WOW what a start to this perfect getaway. Add to that the incredibly helpful and informative staff all around. The breakfast options were amazing -- eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, pancakes (and sugar free syrup), bagels, toast. fruit, oatmeal, and more. The special touches and the family environment made us realize that we need to do this more often so we will be back. thank you West Inn & Suites Carlsbad!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple

A Great Surprise

We spent three nights at the West Inn & Suites and were greatly impressed by everything about the hotel. Before we even arrived, the hotel was emailing with us to confirm a rollaway for our room. They also called the day before our arrival to see if there was anything else we needed prior to our stay. Once we arrived, we were greeted by the super friendly staff and checkin was a breeze. Once in our room, the front desk called to see if there was anything else we needed.


The room (executive king,) was a good size and even with the rollaway, did not seem to be overly crowded. The Coaster train runs right along the east side of the property, but was not a negative for us at all. The windows are very thick, and block a lot of the noise. We could still hear the train occasionally during the day, but not at night, so it was not a factor at all for our sleep. The room was very clean and comfortable. We used the fridge and microwave a lot. 

The entire hotel is very clean and well kept. Even the stairwells are really nice. The pool was perfect, and very popular around 6pm. We "rented" a movie from the front desk and got delivery from West Bistro one night. The food was great (much better than your typical room service,) and the movie selection was very current.

The breakfast buffet was good. The weakest point was the eggs, which were somewhat institutional and rubbery. Everything else was good, with good variety. We are gluten free, but there were still plenty of options for us.

One of the best things about the hotel were the beach items that they had for use, for free. We used chairs, an umbrella, boogie boards, a cooler bag, a frisbee and a nerf football. It was absolutely everything we could have possibly needed and was so great to have it be right in the lobby and free of charge.

The only potential negative (other than the eggs,) were the tv and wifi service. But the hotel is very upfront about the poor signals and how it is something they are working hard to improve. But the wifi is free, so that's great.

Overall, the location and amenities were perfect for us and the entire staff was super friendly and helpful. We will stay there again anytime we are in Carlsbad and definitely recommend it to people.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family

Great family-friendly hotel

We recently stayed at the West Inn and Suites in Carlsbad for a family wedding. The hotel is clean, updated and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The beds were very comfortable and we would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in Carlsbad near the beach. The beach is about a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel provides free parking and a free shuttle that will take you anywhere within 7 miles of the hotel. The morning breakfast had a good selection and was a little different every day. Coffee, tea and fruit were available all day long. We will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family

Spoiled Us Rotten!

I love, love, love this hotel! The customer service is top notch and the services they provide is amazing! My family and I stayed in Carlsbad for a week - we did the beach and Legoland thing. West Inn is minutes away from beaches and less than 10 minutes away from Legoland. They offer free shuttle service (within a 5 mile radius); hence, the free ride to Legoland and guests can borrow beach stuff (umbrellas, beach chairs, boogie boards, sand pails, etc). The facilities are clean, the free breakfast is delicious, my daughters looked forward to an evening treat of cookies and milk from 8pm-9pm, and Josh was a great concierge! 

There is one issue I did have though, Wifi is not so great. If you are planning on working from your room, you'll probably just get frustrated that Wifi is not working well. West Inn does have a business center but brought my laptop just so I can do all my internet stuff in the room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family

Fantastic!!

We stayed here with our two children- they both have allergies and the staff was very accommodating as per our request for a pet free room. This property is beautiful and great location too! The housekeeping staff and the girls at the front desk are so friendly. The property is kept immaculate and the customer service is top notch ! We have stayed at many hotels in this area and this is the best! We loved the breakfast and especially the cookies and milk in the evening for the kiddos! Not usually too impressed with many hotel restaurants but the Bistro at happy hour is Awesome!! Thanks Again!!

Stayed July 2014

Just book it!

We arrived way too early after a long drive and we did not expect to have BOTH early check-in (at around 10am!) and complimentary Breakfast! Wow! So kind of them. As soon as you step in, you realise that all the staff are attentive and very service-oriented (especially Danika, she is one fantastic staff) and the staff will do anything to make you feel at home. Check in was quick and they made sure to call (actually twice) to ensure you are happy with your room. Never seen such hospitality before. 

We were allocated a corner room on the 2nd level (#231) and it worked out real fine. Shower was the best in our 16 days Cali trip (you can adjust the pressure-user friendly) and one of the most spacious bathrooms around. Bed and Linens worked very well for us and we slept like babies. Plenty of TV channels. Apart from the basic provisions, they also provide a microwave and small kitchen sink in the room. Nice coffee machine as well.There may be occasional traffic from the coasters nearby but it was not a big issue for us. Choose 2nd level if you are not bringing any pets (think that's a pet-free level). 

We utilised the complimentary shuttle service to the Premium Outlets located about a mile from the hotel. Call in advance (1 hour) both ways to book the shuttle. A little interesting episode - we were waiting for the shuttle and saw this lady waving to us from her car coming our way. Turned out it was the hotel staff and she identified us by details of our dressing! There were a dozen others in the same spot. How amazing they look into details like that. 

Oh, breakfast was great and do go for the bacon. One of the best I've had!

I cannot find any cons in this choice. 

Just book it!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple

West is the greatest choice when staying in the SD area!

We stayed here for our honeymoon 6/1-6/8 and loved everything about the hotel. Each member of the staff were excellent and delivered amazing an amazing guest experience. Even the cleaning crew and the kitchen staff were very friendly and greeted us every time we would see them. The entire hotel was kept clean and nice looking. The room that we stayed in was great! The room was spacious, well maintained, and had a VERY comfortable bed. The pool and hot tub were very nice as well, both being clean and modern looking. During 8pm to 9pm the hotel serves fresh baked cookies and nice cold milk for all guests in the lobby! The hotel is also very close to Tamarack Beach and the hotel lets you borrow chairs, umbrellas, towels, and boogie boards free of charge anytime!

Overall, when staying in the San Diego area this is a great choice for a hotel. It's about a 30 minute drive from the city center of SD which I think is great. It's out of all the crazy business of the big city but close enough to be able to enjoy the big city when you want to.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple

West is Best

What can i say, i guess the previous few reviews capture it all.

We travelled down from Anaheim after doing the Disney stuff, to make West Inn & Suites our home for 11 nights. I has pre travel concerns over the location and earlier reviews about train tracks etc. These concerns were to very quickly disappear - the hotel facility is first class, attention to detail and little touches are special, staff are exceptional, service is first rate without being over fussy. All in all a 5* service that would come to expect at some very high end international chains.

Coming from the UK and travelling with my wife and three girls we thoroughly enjoyed our Californian experience but if i was to be honest this was made special by the West Inn and Suites.

Great rooms (probably one of the best i have ever stayed in - if you can afford the little extra go for the double king suite; well worth it), fantastic facility, spotlessly clean, exceptional staff, convenient location, good food, fab little touches...... its difficult to say anymore.

We will hopefully one day return!

Thanks West Inn and Suites for a memorable stay.

Oh, and by the way, why the West isn't No 1 in the list, beggars belief - it leaves the rest standing.

Room Tip: Go for the Double King Suite - we were in room 311 - superb!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family

AWESOME HOTEL!

This hotel is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. It had very clean rooms, lobby and grounds. The beds were comfortable even the sofabed was comfortable. My 10 year old son even noticed how fresh the whole hotel smelled and how clean it was. The staff were all wonderful from the front desk professionals to the shuttle drivers and the kitchen staff. The maids were even very nice and professional. We had room service from the Bistro, the gentleman who delivered it was wonderful. The service was fast and reasonable and the food was great! We stayed here while visiting Legoland and took the hotel shuttle to and from the park, it was so convenient and took so much stress and expense away from our outings there. We also used the complimentary beach chairs and towels when going to the beach, which was very nice. The pool is warm and the setting is tranquil and inviting. We will definately stay here when in the area again. I can't say enough good things about it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family

Going to Legoland? Stay here. Perfect for parents, teens and toddler

We chose to stay at this hotel from May 2 thru May 4 while planning a trip to Legoland. We traveled with our kids- ages 17,11 and 2. We knew we had to find something that pleased the oldest, a nice pool for the middle child and definitely toddler friendly for my active 2 yr old. I was so happy when I arrived to see that the hotel had a mini mart/gas station next to it, a steak house restaurant in case you wanted fancy food and a bistro next door which had plenty of options for the whole family. It was very clean landscaping. Looks like it was all owned by West Inn. It beats having to drive around town if you need a carton of milk for the toddler or quickly put gas on your way out. This was very convenient. Next, the parking was great. You can park in the underground parking lot or outside which was not far from the hotel door. Once again perfect when you forget something in the car. When we entered the hotel it smelled so clean. Our room smelled so clean too. Almost like a new house smell. The beds were big and comfy. There were double sheets. I loved that there was double closet space and plenty of hangers. The bathroom towels were nice and thick. The toiletry items were Aveda. The view from my window was looking out to where I parked my car. I did hear a train when we were out by the pool but didn't hear it once inside our room. No big deal. I loved that there was complimentary milk and cookies from 8pm-9pm everynight. Perfect timing to grab the toddler a quick glass of milk before bed time. The fridge in the room included 2 bottles of water each day. I loved that the coffee pot was not in the bathroom. There was a little nook area next to the tv and closet that had a microwave, fridge, sink and coffee pot. It was nice that under the cabinet was a trash can (1 of 3 in the room) and a roll of paper towels. The room size was perfect for us. Next, we used the pool the first afternoon when we arrived. There were not too many chairs, but I never had a problem finding one if I needed it. I must have not went at peak times. They provided swim diapers...which came in handy the second day. Didn't think the toddler would want to swim more than once..wrong...he loved it. They even provided pool floaties and pool noodles for the kids to enjoy. Refreshing water with lemon/orange slices was there along with magazines. The pool towels were thick and perfect to quickly dry off. They kept it well stocked all the time. I never had to go ask for more. The breakfast the next morning was great. My toddler gets up really early and wants his pancakes. Breakfast that morning did not consist of pancakes, but we asked the cook lady if it was possible to make him a couple. She happily agreed to do it for us. We were the only ones down there, maybe thats why but we were very much appreciative of that. I wish I got her name. That was great customer service. The breakfast we had was eggs, potatos, bacon...they also provided bagels, danishes, oatmeal (which was very good), yogurt, cereal. They provided a few types of juices, coffee (and to-go cups--loved it), hot chocolate, hot tea. Plenty of silverware, plastic ware, so many choices. I can't say one negative thing about this place. All the staff greeted us whether we were walking down the stairs, getting on elevator , passing by front desk, out by the pool. Other hotel owners need to take note of this. To sum it up, this is what made me happy that I didn't have to ask for, it was already provided:

Paper towels in room, plenty of hangers, microwave, fridge, paper cups with lid at breakfast time to get my coffee to go, milk in the evening provided for free, swim diapers by pool, ice water by pool, pool toys, plenty of towels by pool and the lovely lady that made my son pancakes and the location of minimart/ gas station, restaurants on campus. If I ever just need to get away, I will book another stay at this hotel for sure. Thank you so much for providing the best service and truthfully giving us what your website tells us you offer plus more.

Room Tip: Pick any room and I'm sure you will love the comfort of it no matter where its at.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family

MOST AMAZING HOTEL EVER!

We travel a TON and this time we were here for 5 days with our two children. The staff was amazing, so friendly, room and hotel was beautiful pictures do not do it justice. The breakfast was great and the milk and cookies were such an awesome added touch. What did it for us was the convenience hands down. It was so close to everything including Legoland and beaches. Beach equipment, movies, games, were available to use complimentary. Free shuttle, gas station on site, bistro and nice steak restaurant on site. The pool was outside, well kept and warm! I LOVED this place, none of us wanted to leave. Definitely would stay again, I wish they had more hotels throughout the country, I would never stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: All rooms here are AMAZING!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family

--:--:--
  • "Exceeded Expectations"

    Aug 20,2014Elizabeth Rath

    View More
  • "Lovely Boutique Hotel"

    Aug 20,2014Tamera B

    View More
  • "Great Place To Stay!"

    Aug 20,2014Arcoccia

    View More
  • "Enjoyed Our Stay Here"

    Aug 20,2014Kristian W

    View More
  • "Can't Go Wrong"

    Aug 20,2014Footballmom4045 (TripAdvisor reviewer)

    View More
  • "Perfect"

    Aug 20,2014Jaclyn R

    View More
  • "A Great Surprise"

    We spent three nights at the West Inn & Suites and were...

    Aug 20,2014Salsl8 (TripAdvisor reviewer)

    View More
  • "Great family-friendly hotel"

    We recently stayed at the West Inn and Suites in Carlsbad fo...

    Aug 05,2014Susan B

    View More
  • "Spoiled Us Rotten!"

    I love, love, love this hotel! The customer service is top n...

    Aug 05,20148m3lia (TripAdvisor reviewer)

    View More
  • "Fantastic!!"

    We stayed here with our two children- they both have allergi...

    Aug 05,2014702LasVegas (TripAdvisor reviewer)

    View More
  • "Just book it!"

    We arrived way too early after a long drive and we did not e...

    Aug 05,2014Diana N

    View More
  • "West is the greatest choice whe..."

    We stayed here for our honeymoon 6/1-6/8 and loved everythin...

    Jun 06,2014Guest

    View More
  • "West is Best"

    What can i say, i guess the previous few reviews capture it ...

    Jun 10,2014Guest

    View More
  • "AWESOME HOTEL!"

    This hotel is one of the best hotels I have...

    May 02,2014Guest

    View More
  • "Going to Legoland? Stay here. P..."

    We chose to stay at this hotel from May 2 thru May 4 while p...

    May 22,2014Guest

    View More
  • "MOST AMAZING HOTEL EVER!"

    We travel a TON and this time we were here for 5 days with o...

    Apr 26,2014Guest

    View More

Email Sign Up