Guest Reviews

Reviews of West Inn & Suites - Carlsbad CA

At West, we seek feedback to improve continuously through guest comment surveys and on our website. Know that we are especially proud of our TripAdvisor reviews and cherish our Travelers Choice Award. We can say with confidence and integrity that these reviews are not solicited or requested yet come from the heart of our leisure and corporate guests. At West, your stay is personal and we are especially honored to serve our corporate/business travelers as well as families, pets and couples here for romance.

Enjoy what our past guests of West Inn & Suites in Carlsbad, CA have to say about their experience with us.

Peaceful hotel with outstanding service

I rely heavily on reviews to book hotel rooms in unknown areas. I am happy to say that the hotel definitely lived up to the great reviews! 

We were staying at a popular themed kiddie hotel just one mile down the road but they didn't have any availability for the weekend so we needed to find a nearby hotel. Enter West Inn and Suits. They came to the themed hotel and picked up our luggage even before we were able to check in to the hotel. Then later that day (at check in time) they came back to the theme park and picked up my children and I and took us to the hotel. Their shuttle driver was so courteous and pleasant to us after a long day of being at the park. She made us feel welcome, gave us dinner ideas, and told the kids about the milk and cookies being served in the lobby in the evening. 

The hotel itself was such a nice place with fun Halloween themed details that my kids enjoyed. It was quiet, clean, and the staff was very helpful. The shuttle service to the nearby beach with the complimentary beach towels, toys, and umbrella was such a nice touch. Those are things we couldn't even think about packing and it was nice to not have to rush out and purchase them! After spending days at a theme park hotel and spending money on every little thing, it was quite refreshing to have those little "extras" thrown into our room deal and made the hotel seem more like a boutique. 

We enjoyed our stay at the West Inn and would stay here over the themed hotel any day!

  • Stayed October 2014

A Perfect Stay

Not on the beach but close enough. Not in the town but close enough. Near the train tracks but quiet and peaceful. This is a rare family friendly, pet friendly and totally everyone friendly place to stay. My husband, I and small dog loved it. The room was set up with dog bed, dog bowls and dog treats. There is a dog park and dog walking area bordering the grounds. The plantings are beautiful. The breakfast area is fabulous. The rooms are perfectly comfortable and large. There are two top rated restaurants on the property.. The pool is heated. The hot tub is perfect. There is a shuttle to the beach and town. There is nothing lacking in this lovely inn. We loved it!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family

Very Convenient and Nice

Took my mother to see her sister in nearby Oceanside and decided to stay overnight at this hotel. So conveniently located, right next to the freeway exit and although it is also by railroad tracks you hear almost nothing. Nice pool and jacuzzi and delicious full free breakfast - you can't beat it for the price! If you have the chance, eat at Bistro West. We had a wonderful burger (meat actually takes good and cooked perfectly) and Mom had a Reuben. Both sandwiches were well made with real swiss cheese. The service was impeccable! Next time we visit we'd like to try their steak and seafood restaurant which has great reviews.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family

Absolutely Terrific!

This was our first visit to West Inn & Suites in Carlsbad. From the moment we arrived we knew our time here would be special. First, the lobby area is spacious and beautifully maintained. Our room was equally spacious and the bathroom was enormous. All amenities were provided and replenished. A full breakfast is served daily. The selections were many though I think the addition of cut fruit would be appreciated especially for all the families with young children that were staying at the inn. The fact that the location has both casual as well as formal dinning facilities is a plus. The parking was ample. The most important thing I want to stress is the absolutely professional and friendly service the entire staff at the inn provided. The inn is minutes away from Legoland, beach and also not too far from San Diego Safari Park. I will definitely recommend this inn to friends and family going down to Carlsbad, CA.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family

Awesome hotel!

I am a very picky hotel guest, but this place exceeded all my expectations. It's a very cute, quiet, clean and thoughtful hotel, with comfortable large rooms, exceptionally friendly staff, and a full complimentary breakfast every day. There is a pool on site, and the hotel includes complimentary poolside fruit infused water, water toys, floaties for little ones, and even water diapers for babies. Amazing! I would absolutely stay here again, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family

Most hospitable

This hotel is by far, very clean, beautiful smell throughout hotel, all staff are exceptionally nice, helpful and very hospitable and accommodating! The beds are amazingly comfortable! Always enjoy staying here and their two restaurants on the property are exceptional also! ❤️

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed at

We stayed here while visiting LegoLand, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. This hotel was wonderful. Last year we stayed at the LegoLand hotel and West was so much better. The rooms are large. There were six of us and we had a small suite. There were 2 king size beds and a sofa bed and plenty of room. The breakfast was wonderful and they serve milk and cookies every night. The staff is so friendly. We will definitely stay here again. Only 5 minutes to LegoLand and only about 40 minutes to the Zoo.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family

Simply Excellent

Just flat out great from the moment of check in. People often say what distinguishes are the small touches and attention to detail and this place delivers. Very friendly gals at check in (Shawanda and Amber) and then get to our room and find a handwritten note from the property GM welcoming me and thanking me for my stay. What class. Then, about an hour after checking in right outside our door was a high end wine reception that is INCLUDED in the cost of the room. The GM (I believe her name was Linda) was pouring the wines herself and chatting with guests. The wines were excellent quality and there were half a dozen choices of top shelf wines to choose from.

For dinner we went to the West Bistro and thought it was terrific in ambiance and food. When we come back there were free cookies and milk in the lobby! Delicious chocolate chip I might add! Bed was super comfy and the room was spacious and clean as a whistle. What a gem and kudos to those putting so much heart and soul into this place--we can't wait to come back. Ryan & Daniela

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business

Very Nice Hotel

My stay at the West Inn Suites in Carlsbad was very nice. It's a lovely upscale hotel with very comfortable rooms. I found the prices to be a little on the high side but did enjoy my stay. It's a short jog to the beach so I was able to get my workout in daily while staying here. There is a nice big outdoor pool that I did use as well as a fitness center within the hotel but why jog on a treadmill when the oceanfront is just down the street. Lots of kids at this hotel due to its close proximity to Legoland but our room was thankfully quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013

I love this hotel.

Once again, the Westin Suites did not disappoint me. Great price! No parking charge. No resort fee. Beautiful rooms ( stay in the middle of hotel facing west). Nice hot breakfast. Close to the ocean- they have a shuttle van that will take you there. Good size pool - 82 degrees. Customer service A+. The staff is so friendly.
They want to make sure you are enjoying your stay. My mother barfed in the lobby. They treated us like they cared about us. Wet towel, barf bag, the manager offered to wash her clothes, help us walk back to the room...such caring people work here. The breakfast staff have smiles and are willing to help you in anyway. I forgot to put out the sign to service my room...the gentleman, after the maids went home, was so kind. The registration staff are always asking if they can help in anyway..just pleasant people. I could have stayed other places but you do not find service like this everywhere. This is a wonderful hotel and I will always stay here when in this area.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family

My home away from home!

I can't say enough great things about this hotel. They really bend over backwards to make you feel at home. I had the pleasure of living there for 2 weeks with my son while we were on transition to move out of the country. This establishment went above and beyond....loaning beach chairs, coolers, towels.....a paper shredder....DVDs for my little one...no request was denied. The room service was to die for, they even had salmon on the kids menu!! The rooms were so clean, and the carpet was immaculate and CLEAN. Usually a family hotel with a pool near the beach has such nasty carpet you need to wear shoes in the room, not this place!! I highly recommend this over any hotel in the area. You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family

Best Legoland Hotel

This hotel is right down the street from Legiland. The staff and rooms are impeccable. Couldn't be happier with my choice to stay here. It really is a beautiful hotel. And at half the price of the legoland hotel

Top Notch

I love this hotel! The staff here is beyond courteous and friendly. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The decor throughout the the hotel and the rooms is beautiful. My husband was traveling for business, and I decided to join him for his two night stay. I found this hotel which was only a few miles from where he would be working. They were offering a phenomenal deal called "Endless Summer". With this package you get a two-night stay in a King Suite for $299.00 which includes the full buffet breakfast. While making my reservation, I spoke with Emily and asked for an upper or 3rd floor room. She said she would be working the day of our check in and would definitely do her best to fulfill my request. Upon arrival, we had 3rd floor Suite reserved; one at the end of the hallway overlooking the pool which was perfect. Thank you Emily! Another wonderful staff member is Stephanie who checked us in to our room. She could not have been nicer. I also chatted with her the day we checked out, and she was a lot of fun to talk with, not to mention very informative about the Carlsbad area. Our Suite was beautiful and just the perfect set up to be able to enjoy a separate sitting room with a couch, chair and desk apart from the bedroom area. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the Suite which we found very convenient. The sheets were luxurious and so soft, and the bed was very comfortable. I think that this hotel must have excellent insulation because our room was very near the freeway, but we did not hear any traffic. There are lovely touches throughout the hotel ... a complimentary wine or beer pour in the early evening, cookies and milk at night, coffee and tea served all day and night, towels provided at the pool for guest's convenience, and water provided poolside while enjoying the pool and patio. My husband has since been required to return to Carlsbad twice more on business, and I didn't hesitate to make reservations for him both times at the West Inn & Suites. This place is truly top notch!

Room Tip: We loved the 3rd floor overlooking the pool!

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business

Great place to stay

Absolutely terrific place to stay. Rooms are great, service is exceptional .staff here could not be any more obliging. Buffet breakfast is great value for money, lemonade by the pool a nice touch and milk and cookies on offer at the end of each day. Would highly recommend. Great base for Lego land - 5 mins by shuttle from hotel. Shuttle bus takes you to Legoland, beaches and other places. They will even pack umbrellas, sand toys, beach chairs for you. A great welcome to So Cal. Can't speak highly enough of the staff.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family

More than Expected

Emily, a front desk clerk was above and beyond courteous and gave us amazing and professional service. She surpassed my expectations. I would highly recommend staying here. Not only was Emily very professional and gave us excellent service but the hotel was very clean and had great amenities. I would definitively stay here again.

The Best - Especially the customer service

We have never had better service from a hotel than a West Inn and Suites in Carlsbad, Ca. Never.

And we have been travelling for a long while - we were in Carlsbad when our daughter was about ready to deliver her second child.

The front desk person (stephanie) actually came next door to the restaurant we were eating in to help with an issue we were having. Incredible.

The staff called us when it appeared to the cleaning crews that we had left (we left the hotel at 0400 when our daughter went into labor so we took the luggage). They kept the room open for us since we were unsure if we would need it for the next night.

All were friendly, courteous, and helpful. Significantly better customer service than any other hotel we have been in.

the hotel is near the beach, great for business travellers, a beautiful hotel with nice room and amenities.

Frankly this is our number one hotel. We loved it and the staff. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family

Great Place To Stay

We stayed here because we were having a LEGOLAND weekend with our 6 year old daughter, so funny she couldn't wait to leave LEGOLAND and go swimming in the hotel pool she even elected not to go to the attractions the next day and just swim in the pool instead- they have water toys and life jackets - she had a blast playing with what was available- next time we may save some money and just spend the weekend at the hotel :)

Room Tip: “We got the deluxe king which was plenty of room for hubby daughter and I- it was a fun sleep over event!”
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family

Great Stay

This place was perfect for a semi-staycation two day trip to Legoland with a family of four. 

Positives: 
• Family, kid friendly place
• Staff is very friendly and goes out of the way to help. Don’t want to understate this, the staff went above and beyond on several instances 
• Do a lot of little things right e.g. free parking, no resort fee, complimentary breakfast, games and movies to check out, chairs and body boards for the beach, turndown service, cookies at night and more
• Very clean, up to date rooms
• 5 minutes to Legoland
• Great value

If you’re looking for a resort with a lazy river, kids club, golf course, bar, resort fees and parking charges this is not the place for you. We weren’t and they were perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family

Great Accommodations

Best value for all the amenities! Pristine grounds, suite was more than comfy and the staff made us feel like royalty! Everything we needed to enjoy a day at the beach was offered free of charge.Definitely going to return for another get-away that I has earned our business!

 

Exceeded Expectations

My 3 sisters and I booked a double king bed suite for our annual summer birthday celebration. We were delightfully surprised with the friendly, competent staff at check in. The hotel was nicely decorated with real orchid arrangements. The rooms were clean and the beds super comfortable. We enjoyed the free 'perks' such as the parking, breakfast, reading room, pool and jacuzzi, and evening turn down service with chocolates. The on site restaurant was fabulous- Zagat rated and the food, wine, and bar couldn't have been better! Despite the hotel being pet and kid friendly, our room was quiet. We were granted a one hour complimentary extended check out. My sister discovered her tires had low air pressure & the engineer was called to assist her with that repair. We couldn't have been treated any better- the service was personalized and professional.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family

Lovely Boutique Hotel

My family and I stayed in a double King suite for one night while visiting Legoland and we LOVED it. The hotel is smaller and the grounds are very well manicured. The staff was very friendly and helpful from the time we arrived. The hotel is really clean and we loved our room. We're a family of 4, with 5 and 8 year old boys. So, we love finding the right size beds for us to be comfortable. We're usually happy with 2 queen beds, but 2 KINGS?? Awesome Sauce!!!!! The best part was the cookies and milk turndown.....that's our kind of turn down. 

The pool is kind of small, but the hotel isn't huge. Lastly, the staff was very friendly and helpful from arrival until departure. West Inn & Suites is definitely going on my short list of places to stay in Carlsbad.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family

Great Place To Stay!

 hate to be redundant,but my review is going to sound just like a lot of the others,because, this place is GREAT! ALL and I mean ALL of the staff is very friendly,helpful and seem to enjoy there job. Customer service is top notch. The hotel itself is fantastic,with a beachy,island flair,without going overboard. Have stayed at other property's in Carlsbad before,but when I go back,we are staying at the West Inn!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple

Enjoyed Our Stay Here

Stayed here for my wife's milestone birthday celebration with kids and immediate family. Staff was professional and very friendly! Always fulfilled our needs. Free shuttle to anywhere within 5mi radius of hotel was always on time for pickup and return! They also provided complimentary crib and pack and play for our room, and baby car seats for infants and toddlers (which they setup for families in advance). So many complimentary amenities that would've been extra at other hotels. West Inn Cafe had AMAZING food. Although a little on the pricey side for families, the quality was outstanding! We loved this hotel, and will definitely book here again! Awesome job West Inn & Suites!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family

Can't Go Wrong

A wedding in Oceanside brought us to San Diego - I was having trouble locating a suitable (location and price) hotel to stay in....stumbled across West Inn & Suites here on TripAdvisor - and, based on reviews I picked it...normally i wouldn't dare go with something i'd never heard of - but i figured i'd give it a shot - what a great decision!!! The staff was some of the friendliest i have encountered....The Front Desk folks were always greeting us with smiles and offering assistance and so much information.
They have thought of everything - how great it was to go to the front desk and be given beach towels and even beach chairs - Tommy Bahama chairs no less!!! 
The beds were amazingly comfortable....the rooms large enough to move around and not feel cramped....their bath towels are some of the softest i've ever had in a hotel!
Parking was never a problem and the convenience being right off I-5 was a blessing for this out-of-towner. 
Their Bistro had fabulous food - the only downfall there was that it was pretty pricey and they were extremely limited in their beer selection - the service was impeccable.
We made sure everyone at the wedding knew about the place and if we had cause to be back in San Diego we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
Traveling only as a couple, we did feel a little out of place - most other guests were families traveling with children...but that didn't bother us.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple

Perfect

Trip Advisor helped us find this gem. We were getting away w/o kids/grandkids for the first time. I shared that with the hotel in an email, asking for a quiet room on the top floor. We were greeted with champagne on ice and chocolates upon our arrival. WOW what a start to this perfect getaway. Add to that the incredibly helpful and informative staff all around. The breakfast options were amazing -- eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, pancakes (and sugar free syrup), bagels, toast. fruit, oatmeal, and more. The special touches and the family environment made us realize that we need to do this more often so we will be back. thank you West Inn & Suites Carlsbad!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple

A Great Surprise

We spent three nights at the West Inn & Suites and were greatly impressed by everything about the hotel. Before we even arrived, the hotel was emailing with us to confirm a rollaway for our room. They also called the day before our arrival to see if there was anything else we needed prior to our stay. Once we arrived, we were greeted by the super friendly staff and checkin was a breeze. Once in our room, the front desk called to see if there was anything else we needed.


The room (executive king,) was a good size and even with the rollaway, did not seem to be overly crowded. The Coaster train runs right along the east side of the property, but was not a negative for us at all. The windows are very thick, and block a lot of the noise. We could still hear the train occasionally during the day, but not at night, so it was not a factor at all for our sleep. The room was very clean and comfortable. We used the fridge and microwave a lot. 

The entire hotel is very clean and well kept. Even the stairwells are really nice. The pool was perfect, and very popular around 6pm. We "rented" a movie from the front desk and got delivery from West Bistro one night. The food was great (much better than your typical room service,) and the movie selection was very current.

The breakfast buffet was good. The weakest point was the eggs, which were somewhat institutional and rubbery. Everything else was good, with good variety. We are gluten free, but there were still plenty of options for us.

One of the best things about the hotel were the beach items that they had for use, for free. We used chairs, an umbrella, boogie boards, a cooler bag, a frisbee and a nerf football. It was absolutely everything we could have possibly needed and was so great to have it be right in the lobby and free of charge.

The only potential negative (other than the eggs,) were the tv and wifi service. But the hotel is very upfront about the poor signals and how it is something they are working hard to improve. But the wifi is free, so that's great.

Overall, the location and amenities were perfect for us and the entire staff was super friendly and helpful. We will stay there again anytime we are in Carlsbad and definitely recommend it to people.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family

Great family-friendly hotel

We recently stayed at the West Inn and Suites in Carlsbad for a family wedding. The hotel is clean, updated and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The beds were very comfortable and we would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in Carlsbad near the beach. The beach is about a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel provides free parking and a free shuttle that will take you anywhere within 7 miles of the hotel. The morning breakfast had a good selection and was a little different every day. Coffee, tea and fruit were available all day long. We will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family

Spoiled Us Rotten!

I love, love, love this hotel! The customer service is top notch and the services they provide is amazing! My family and I stayed in Carlsbad for a week - we did the beach and Legoland thing. West Inn is minutes away from beaches and less than 10 minutes away from Legoland. They offer free shuttle service (within a 5 mile radius); hence, the free ride to Legoland and guests can borrow beach stuff (umbrellas, beach chairs, boogie boards, sand pails, etc). The facilities are clean, the free breakfast is delicious, my daughters looked forward to an evening treat of cookies and milk from 8pm-9pm, and Josh was a great concierge! 

There is one issue I did have though, Wifi is not so great. If you are planning on working from your room, you'll probably just get frustrated that Wifi is not working well. West Inn does have a business center but brought my laptop just so I can do all my internet stuff in the room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family

Fantastic!!

We stayed here with our two children- they both have allergies and the staff was very accommodating as per our request for a pet free room. This property is beautiful and great location too! The housekeeping staff and the girls at the front desk are so friendly. The property is kept immaculate and the customer service is top notch ! We have stayed at many hotels in this area and this is the best! We loved the breakfast and especially the cookies and milk in the evening for the kiddos! Not usually too impressed with many hotel restaurants but the Bistro at happy hour is Awesome!! Thanks Again!!

Stayed July 2014

Just book it!

We arrived way too early after a long drive and we did not expect to have BOTH early check-in (at around 10am!) and complimentary Breakfast! Wow! So kind of them. As soon as you step in, you realise that all the staff are attentive and very service-oriented (especially Danika, she is one fantastic staff) and the staff will do anything to make you feel at home. Check in was quick and they made sure to call (actually twice) to ensure you are happy with your room. Never seen such hospitality before. 

We were allocated a corner room on the 2nd level (#231) and it worked out real fine. Shower was the best in our 16 days Cali trip (you can adjust the pressure-user friendly) and one of the most spacious bathrooms around. Bed and Linens worked very well for us and we slept like babies. Plenty of TV channels. Apart from the basic provisions, they also provide a microwave and small kitchen sink in the room. Nice coffee machine as well.There may be occasional traffic from the coasters nearby but it was not a big issue for us. Choose 2nd level if you are not bringing any pets (think that's a pet-free level). 

We utilised the complimentary shuttle service to the Premium Outlets located about a mile from the hotel. Call in advance (1 hour) both ways to book the shuttle. A little interesting episode - we were waiting for the shuttle and saw this lady waving to us from her car coming our way. Turned out it was the hotel staff and she identified us by details of our dressing! There were a dozen others in the same spot. How amazing they look into details like that. 

Oh, breakfast was great and do go for the bacon. One of the best I've had!

I cannot find any cons in this choice. 

Just book it!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple

West is the greatest choice when staying in the SD area!

We stayed here for our honeymoon 6/1-6/8 and loved everything about the hotel. Each member of the staff were excellent and delivered amazing an amazing guest experience. Even the cleaning crew and the kitchen staff were very friendly and greeted us every time we would see them. The entire hotel was kept clean and nice looking. The room that we stayed in was great! The room was spacious, well maintained, and had a VERY comfortable bed. The pool and hot tub were very nice as well, both being clean and modern looking. During 8pm to 9pm the hotel serves fresh baked cookies and nice cold milk for all guests in the lobby! The hotel is also very close to Tamarack Beach and the hotel lets you borrow chairs, umbrellas, towels, and boogie boards free of charge anytime!

Overall, when staying in the San Diego area this is a great choice for a hotel. It's about a 30 minute drive from the city center of SD which I think is great. It's out of all the crazy business of the big city but close enough to be able to enjoy the big city when you want to.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple

West is Best

What can i say, i guess the previous few reviews capture it all.

We travelled down from Anaheim after doing the Disney stuff, to make West Inn & Suites our home for 11 nights. I has pre travel concerns over the location and earlier reviews about train tracks etc. These concerns were to very quickly disappear - the hotel facility is first class, attention to detail and little touches are special, staff are exceptional, service is first rate without being over fussy. All in all a 5* service that would come to expect at some very high end international chains.

Coming from the UK and travelling with my wife and three girls we thoroughly enjoyed our Californian experience but if i was to be honest this was made special by the West Inn and Suites.

Great rooms (probably one of the best i have ever stayed in - if you can afford the little extra go for the double king suite; well worth it), fantastic facility, spotlessly clean, exceptional staff, convenient location, good food, fab little touches...... its difficult to say anymore.

We will hopefully one day return!

Thanks West Inn and Suites for a memorable stay.

Oh, and by the way, why the West isn't No 1 in the list, beggars belief - it leaves the rest standing.

Room Tip: Go for the Double King Suite - we were in room 311 - superb!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family

AWESOME HOTEL!

This hotel is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. It had very clean rooms, lobby and grounds. The beds were comfortable even the sofabed was comfortable. My 10 year old son even noticed how fresh the whole hotel smelled and how clean it was. The staff were all wonderful from the front desk professionals to the shuttle drivers and the kitchen staff. The maids were even very nice and professional. We had room service from the Bistro, the gentleman who delivered it was wonderful. The service was fast and reasonable and the food was great! We stayed here while visiting Legoland and took the hotel shuttle to and from the park, it was so convenient and took so much stress and expense away from our outings there. We also used the complimentary beach chairs and towels when going to the beach, which was very nice. The pool is warm and the setting is tranquil and inviting. We will definately stay here when in the area again. I can't say enough good things about it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family

Going to Legoland? Stay here. Perfect for parents, teens and toddler

We chose to stay at this hotel from May 2 thru May 4 while planning a trip to Legoland. We traveled with our kids- ages 17,11 and 2. We knew we had to find something that pleased the oldest, a nice pool for the middle child and definitely toddler friendly for my active 2 yr old. I was so happy when I arrived to see that the hotel had a mini mart/gas station next to it, a steak house restaurant in case you wanted fancy food and a bistro next door which had plenty of options for the whole family. It was very clean landscaping. Looks like it was all owned by West Inn. It beats having to drive around town if you need a carton of milk for the toddler or quickly put gas on your way out. This was very convenient. Next, the parking was great. You can park in the underground parking lot or outside which was not far from the hotel door. Once again perfect when you forget something in the car. When we entered the hotel it smelled so clean. Our room smelled so clean too. Almost like a new house smell. The beds were big and comfy. There were double sheets. I loved that there was double closet space and plenty of hangers. The bathroom towels were nice and thick. The toiletry items were Aveda. The view from my window was looking out to where I parked my car. I did hear a train when we were out by the pool but didn't hear it once inside our room. No big deal. I loved that there was complimentary milk and cookies from 8pm-9pm everynight. Perfect timing to grab the toddler a quick glass of milk before bed time. The fridge in the room included 2 bottles of water each day. I loved that the coffee pot was not in the bathroom. There was a little nook area next to the tv and closet that had a microwave, fridge, sink and coffee pot. It was nice that under the cabinet was a trash can (1 of 3 in the room) and a roll of paper towels. The room size was perfect for us. Next, we used the pool the first afternoon when we arrived. There were not too many chairs, but I never had a problem finding one if I needed it. I must have not went at peak times. They provided swim diapers...which came in handy the second day. Didn't think the toddler would want to swim more than once..wrong...he loved it. They even provided pool floaties and pool noodles for the kids to enjoy. Refreshing water with lemon/orange slices was there along with magazines. The pool towels were thick and perfect to quickly dry off. They kept it well stocked all the time. I never had to go ask for more. The breakfast the next morning was great. My toddler gets up really early and wants his pancakes. Breakfast that morning did not consist of pancakes, but we asked the cook lady if it was possible to make him a couple. She happily agreed to do it for us. We were the only ones down there, maybe thats why but we were very much appreciative of that. I wish I got her name. That was great customer service. The breakfast we had was eggs, potatos, bacon...they also provided bagels, danishes, oatmeal (which was very good), yogurt, cereal. They provided a few types of juices, coffee (and to-go cups--loved it), hot chocolate, hot tea. Plenty of silverware, plastic ware, so many choices. I can't say one negative thing about this place. All the staff greeted us whether we were walking down the stairs, getting on elevator , passing by front desk, out by the pool. Other hotel owners need to take note of this. To sum it up, this is what made me happy that I didn't have to ask for, it was already provided:

Paper towels in room, plenty of hangers, microwave, fridge, paper cups with lid at breakfast time to get my coffee to go, milk in the evening provided for free, swim diapers by pool, ice water by pool, pool toys, plenty of towels by pool and the lovely lady that made my son pancakes and the location of minimart/ gas station, restaurants on campus. If I ever just need to get away, I will book another stay at this hotel for sure. Thank you so much for providing the best service and truthfully giving us what your website tells us you offer plus more.

Room Tip: Pick any room and I'm sure you will love the comfort of it no matter where its at.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family

MOST AMAZING HOTEL EVER!

We travel a TON and this time we were here for 5 days with our two children. The staff was amazing, so friendly, room and hotel was beautiful pictures do not do it justice. The breakfast was great and the milk and cookies were such an awesome added touch. What did it for us was the convenience hands down. It was so close to everything including Legoland and beaches. Beach equipment, movies, games, were available to use complimentary. Free shuttle, gas station on site, bistro and nice steak restaurant on site. The pool was outside, well kept and warm! I LOVED this place, none of us wanted to leave. Definitely would stay again, I wish they had more hotels throughout the country, I would never stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: All rooms here are AMAZING!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family

--:--:--
  • "Peaceful hotel with outstanding..."

    Nov 17,2014Dfamof5 (TripAdvisor reviewer)

    View More
  • "A Perfect Stay"

    Nov 17,2014Suzanne

    View More
  • "Very Convenient and Nice"

    Nov 17,2014Happy ULCA Retiree (TripAdvisor reviewer)

    View More
  • "Absolutely Terrific!"

    Nov 03,2014Samroz (TripAdvisor reviewer)

    View More
  • "“Aweso..."

    I am a very picky hotel guest, but this place exceeded al...

    Oct 23,2014DeuxSeattle (TripAdvisor Senior Reviewer)

    View More
  • "“Most ..."

    This hotel is by far, very clean, beautiful smell through...

    Oct 23,2014Elaine Ledesma

    View More
  • "“One o..."

    We stayed here while visiting LegoLand, the San Diego Zoo...

    Oct 23,2014Julie S.

    View More
  • "Simply Excellent"

    Just flat out great from the moment of check in. People o...

    Oct 13,2014winefellowguy (TripAdvisor reviewer)

    View More
  • "Very Nice Hotel"

    My stay at the West Inn Suites in Carlsbad was very nice....

    Oct 13,2014gadgetguy63 (TripAdvisor reviewer)

    View More
  • "I love this hotel."

    Sep 29,2014Schugg (TripAdvisor Senior Reviewer)

    View More
  • "My home away from home!"

    Sep 29,2014Roller Royalty (TripAdvisor reviewer)

    View More
  • "Best Legoland Hotel"

    This hotel is right down the street from Legiland. The...

    Sep 29,2014lflsjet (TripAdvisor reviewer)

    View More
  • "Top Notch"

    I love this hotel! The staff here is beyond courteous ...

    Sep 29,2014Lisa Loves to Cook (TripAdvisor Reviewer)

    View More
  • "Great place to stay"

    Sep 29,2014Deb Black

    View More
  • "More than Expected"

    Emily, a front desk clerk was above and beyond courteo...

    Sep 29,2014Howard

    View More
  • "The Best - Especially the custo..."

    Sep 29,2014Rick and Nancy

    View More
  • "Great Place To Stay"

    Sep 29,2014Brandy1408 (TripAdvisor reviewer)

    View More
  • "Great Stay"

    Sep 29,2014RMinOC (TripAdvisor Reviewer)

    View More
  • "Great Accommodations"

    Best value for all the amenities! Pristine grounds, su...

    Sep 29,2014Joy

    View More
  • "Exceeded Expectations"

    Aug 20,2014Elizabeth Rath

    View More
  • "Lovely Boutique Hotel"

    Aug 20,2014Tamera B

    View More
  • "Great Place To Stay!"

    Aug 20,2014Arcoccia

    View More
  • "Enjoyed Our Stay Here"

    Aug 20,2014Kristian W

    View More
  • "Can't Go Wrong"

    Aug 20,2014Footballmom4045 (TripAdvisor reviewer)

    View More
  • "Perfect"

    Aug 20,2014Jaclyn R

    View More
  • "A Great Surprise"

    We spent three nights at the West Inn & Suites and were...

    Aug 20,2014Salsl8 (TripAdvisor reviewer)

    View More
  • "Great family-friendly hotel"

    We recently stayed at the West Inn and Suites in Carlsbad fo...

    Aug 05,2014Susan B

    View More
  • "Spoiled Us Rotten!"

    I love, love, love this hotel! The customer service is top n...

    Aug 05,20148m3lia (TripAdvisor reviewer)

    View More
  • "Fantastic!!"

    We stayed here with our two children- they both have allergi...

    Aug 05,2014702LasVegas (TripAdvisor reviewer)

    View More
  • "Just book it!"

    We arrived way too early after a long drive and we did not e...

    Aug 05,2014Diana N

    View More
  • "West is the greatest choice whe..."

    We stayed here for our honeymoon 6/1-6/8 and loved everythin...

    Jun 06,2014Guest

    View More
  • "West is Best"

    What can i say, i guess the previous few reviews capture it ...

    Jun 10,2014Guest

    View More
  • "AWESOME HOTEL!"

    This hotel is one of the best hotels I have...

    May 02,2014Guest

    View More
  • "Going to Legoland? Stay here. P..."

    We chose to stay at this hotel from May 2 thru May 4 while p...

    May 22,2014Guest

    View More
  • "MOST AMAZING HOTEL EVER!"

    We travel a TON and this time we were here for 5 days with o...

    Apr 26,2014Guest

    View More

Email Sign Up